Tommy Fleetwood and Matt Fitzpatrick will represent Team GB at the Paris Olmypics in August

Teams for men’s Olympic golf event unveiled

The names of the players who have qualified to represent their countries at this summer’s Olympic Games in Paris have been announced.

The 72-hole, stroke play tournament is being held at Le Golf National, venue of the 2018 Ryder Cup, from August 1-4.

Former US Open champion Matt Fitzpatrick and Tommy Fleetwood qualified for Team GB, while Rory McIlroy and Shane Lowry are set to represent Ireland.

The qualifying period came to an end at the US Open at Pinehurst on Sunday. The 60-player field features players representing 32 different countries, with the US the only nation to have more than two qualifiers.

World number one Scottie Scheffler, the defending Olympic champion Xander Schauffele, Wyndham Clark and Collin Morikawa will represent Team USA.

Team USA will have a strong hand in Paris after Collin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele and Wyndham Clarke qualified for the Olympic Golf event

The top 15 players in the world rankings were eligible for Paris, with a limit of four players per country. Countries without players in the top 15 can take a maximum of two. Host nation France was guaranteed at least one spot, with Matthieu Pavon and Victor Perez qualifying. Jon Rahm and David Puig are set to represent Spain.

Players on the LIV tour are permitted to play but qualifying has been much harder as their events are not recognised as counting towards the official world rankings.

The Olympic golf tournaments will host fields of 60 players for both men and women in a 72-hole stroke play format. Despite being announced as ‘teams’, the Olympic golf competition is individual stroke play, with no team element to the scoring.

The women’s golf competition is taking place from August 7-10, with the make up of the teams being finalised on June 24 following the completion of the Women’s PGA Championship.

The full line-up of players for the men’s event is as follows…

Argentina (2)

  • Emiliano Grillo
  • Alejandro Tosti

Australia (2)

  • Jason Day
  • Min Woo Lee

Austria (1)

  • Sepp Straka

Belgium (2)

  • Thomas Detry
  • Adrien Dumont du Chassart

Canada (2)

  • Corey Conners
  • Nick Taylor

Chile (2)

  • Cristobel Del Solar
  • Joaquin Niemann

China (2)

  • Zechang Dou
  • Carl Yuan

Chinese Taipei (2)

  • C.T. Pan
  • Kevin Yu

Colombia (2)

  • Nico Echevarria
  • Camillo Villegas

Denmark (2)

  • Nicolai Hojgaard
  • Thorbjorn Olesen

Finland (1)

  • Sami Valimaki

France (2)

  • Matthieu Pavon
  • Victor Perez

Germany (2)

  • Stephan Jaeger
  • Matti Schmid

Great Britain (2)

  • Matt Fitzpatrick
  • Tommy Fleetwood

India (2)

  • Gaganjeet Bhullar
  • Shubshankar Sharma

Ireland (2)

  • Shane Lowry
  • Rory McIlroy

Italy (2)

  • Matteo Manassero
  • Guido Migliozzi

Japan (2)

  • Hideki Matsuyama
  • Keita Nakajima

Malaysia (1)

  • Gavin Green

Mexico (2)

  • Abraham Ancer
  • Carlos Ortiz

Netherlands (2)

  • Darius van Driel
  • Joost Luiten

New Zealand (2)

  • Ryan Fox
  • Daniel Hillier

Norway (2)

  • Viktor Hovland
  • Kris Ventura

Paraguay (1)

  • Fabrizio Zanotti

Poland (1)

  • Adrian Meronk

Puerto Rico (1)

  • Rafael Campos

South Africa (2)

  • Christiaan Bezuidenhout
  • Erik Van Rooyen

South Korea (2)

  • Byeong Hun An
  • Tom Kim

Spain (2)

  • David Puig
  • Jon Rahm

Sweden (2)

  • Ludvig Aberg
  • Alex Noren

Thailand (2)

  • Kiradech Aphibarnrat
  • Phachara Khongwatmai

United States (4)

  • Wyndham Clark
  • Collin Morikawa
  • Xander Schauffele
  • Scottie Scheffler
Le Golf National, Paris