Shortlist unveiled for England Golf Awards

The finalists have been confirmed for the 2024 England Golf Awards, which will be presented at the England Golf Centenary Dinner & Awards evening being held in Manchester on February 13.

England Golf Chief Executive Jeremy Tomlinson said: “We’re very much looking forward to a wonderful night to celebrate 100 years of England Golf, with a great opportunity to recognise many of the wonderful volunteers in the game. Those who have been nominated for an award should be immensely proud of what they have achieved and while it is always a difficult task for our judging panels, we believe we have some excellent finalists and wonderful winners, as such we look forward to welcoming everyone at the Centenary Dinner.”

Nominations were invited from the public for nine of the categories and an expert panel of 38 judges, comprising England Golf staff as well as key industry and media colleagues, have whittled down the long list of nominations to the remaining finalists. In keeping with tradition, there is no shortlist for the Lifetime Service Award which will be presented to one worthy recipient on the night. The Hall of Fame inductees will be shortlisted by our Centenary Committee and voted in by England Golf members.

Royal Ascot Golf Club is one of three venues in the running for the Golf Club of the Year award


Club of the Year sponsored by DotGolf
Bedfordshire Golf Club
Royal Ascot Golf Club (Berkshire)
Blacknest Golf & Country Club (Hampshire)

County of the Year sponsored by Marsh

Diversity & Inclusion Champion sponsored by Citation
Alastair Spink, (Fynn Valley GC, Suffolk)
Magna Vitae (Lincolnshire)
Nicola Bennett (Bush Hill Park GC, Hertfordshire)

Participation & Development Coach of the Year
Alastair Spink (Fynn Valley GC, Suffolk)
Alex MacGregor (Addington Court GC, Surrey)
Paul Creamer (Blacknest G&CC, Hampshire)

Sustainability Project of the Year sponsored by OCEANTEE
Colmworth GC (Bedfordshire)
Heswall GC (Cheshire)
Nik Fox, Junior Organiser at Kenwick Park GC (Lincolnshire)

Volunteer of the Year
Abi Frodsham (Wallasey GC, Cheshire)
Linda Green (Torquay GC, Devon)
Melissa Clapham (Romiley GC, Cheshire)

Young Volunteer of the Year sponsored by Golf Foundation
Freya Allen (Elsham GC, Lincolnshire)
Maria-Tiffany Thompson (Brocton Hall GC, Staffordshire)
Ryka Verma (South Staffordshire GC, Staffordshire)

Women & Girls Trailblazer sponsored by Your Golf Travel
Girls Golf Excellence, Molly Moore (Reigate Hill GC, Surrey)
Jersey Ladies Golf Development Group
Meghan Hopkins (3 Hammers Golf Academy, Staffordshire)

Performance of the Year sponsored by Performance 54
Charlotte Heath
Kris Kim
John Gough

Tournament Venue of the Year
Moor Park GC (Hertfordshire) – hosted Carris Trophy
The Caversham GC (Berkshire) – hosted English U18 Girls Championship
Shifnal GC (Shropshire) – hosted English Girls’ U16/U14 Championship